Paton Prize

Sir William Paton left BTS a bequest to encourage scholarships in the historical aspects of toxicology.  This donation was matched by the BTS and the Paton Prize established.


Biennially in even numbered years


Person of senior standing

Application requirements

Brief description of the candidate’s career and contributions to National and International Toxicology


Call to membership in year preceding annual congress


Winner notified by President by end of Jan preceding annual congress

1998 Prof R Smith

2000 Prof P N Magee

2002 Prof R Estabrook

2004 Prof I Purchase

2006 Prof J Ashby

2008 Prof G G Gibson and Prof P S Goldfarb

2010 Dr F M Sullivan

2012 Dr G Cohen

2014 Prof Sir Colin Berry

2016 Prof T Lock

2018 Prof L Smith