Best Poster & Oral Communication at the Annual Congress

The BTS encourages those studying toxicology and related sciences to present their work at the congress.  These awards recognise and celebrate the excellence of those at the early stages of their career.

Award attributes

Student presenting the best poster or oral communication at the Annual Congress



Support provided
  • £100 prize
  • Commemorative Certificate
  • The student must present either a poster or oral communication at the annual congress
Application requirements
  • Abstracts for the congress should be submitted within congress deadlines.
  • Candidate gives poster or oral presentation at annual congress
  • Judging panel formed by SSC
  • Winners announced at congress dinner

2011 Poster Prize, Mr Jack Sharkey, University of Liverpool

2011 Oral Presentation Prize, Ms Shambhavi Naik, University of Leicester

2013 Poster Prize, Mr Michael, Kyriakides, Imperial College London

2013 Oral Presentation Prize, Dr Mark Hayes, University of Manchester

2016 Poster Prize, Ms Kimberley Rockley, Durham University

2016 Oral Presentation Prize, Miss Amy Ball, University of Liverpool

2017 Poster Prize, Miss Hannah Dusza, Brunel University

2017 Oral Presentation Prize, Miss Nathalie de Bois Brillant, University of Liverpool

2018 Poster Prize, Mr Lewis Bibby, Newcastle University

2018 Oral Presentation Prize, Mrs Arathi Kizhedath, Newcastle University

2019 Oral Presentation Prize, Miss Lucia Livoti, University of Liverpool

2019 RSC Poster Presentation, Miss Kirsty Meldrum, Imperial College London

2019 IVTS Poster Presentation, Dr Stefano Grosso, University of Leicester

2022 Oral Presentation Prize, Miss Lucia Livoti, University of Liverpool

2023 Toxicology research (OUP) prize: Yizhou Yu, Cambridge University

2023 Poster Prize, Laura Booth, Newcastle University

2023 UKAAT Poster prize, Tiago Marques Pedro, Cambridge University

2023 RSC Poster prize, Felix Effah, UKHSA

2023 BTS Oral communication prizes, Hannah Coghlan and David O’Loughlin, MRC Toxicology Unit

2024 Best oral communications prize – post doctorate, Dimitrios Kakavas, School of Biotechnology, Dublin City University

2024 Best oral communications prize – student, Laura Booth, Newcastle University

2024 Best poster prize – post doctorate, Dr Giusy Russomanno, University of Liverpool

2024 Best poster prize – student, David O’Loughlin, MRC Toxicology Unit