The Committees

The Society is run by the Executive Committee (EC) which is supported by a number of subcommittees.  There are 6 Officers and 6 ordinary members of the EC.  All members of the EC are elected by the members of the Society.  The EC meets 4 times a year with three one day meetings and one short meeting after the Annual General Meeting at the Annual Congress.  In addition the Officers meet once per year.

The Officers are:

President (2 year term)
Vice President (2 year term)
General Secretary (2 year term)
Treasurer (2 year term)
Chair of the Scientific Subcommittee (2 year term)
Vice-Chair of the Scientific Subcommittee (2 year term)

The EC is responsible for the strategic direction of the Society and ratifies all decisions advised by the subcommittees.  The current Executive Committee details can be found here.

The Subcommittees

The Scientific Subcommittee (SSC) plans and organises the Annual Congress and any other scientific meetings run by the society or in collaboration with other sister Societies.

The Communication Subcommittee (CSC) handles all the communications on behalf of the Society and produces the btsNews.

The Education Training and Career Development Subcommittee (ETCD) support the development of training including the Continuing Education Programme that forms part of our Annual Congress.  Committee members attend career fairs and provide information on options available to graduates interested in toxicology.

The Finance Subcommittee (FSC) advises the Society on all financial matters including subscription rates for members as well as dues to international organisations and charities.

The Nominations Subcommittee (NSC) advertises positions on the EC and various subcommittee and make recommendations to the EC from the applications received.