Scientific Subcommittee

Some of the main objectives of the BTS are to organise scientific meetings and conferences, foster interactions and facilitate collaborative meetings with other societies, and support scientific discussions across its membership. The Scientific Subcommittee (SSC) is responsible for agreeing and organising the BTS scientific meetings programmes, inviting contributors and presenters to these meetings and discussions, and fostering collaborations with the wider toxicology community.


Chair: Dr Lesley Reeve

Vice-Chair: Dr Ian Copple


Ordinary Members:

  • Andreas Bender (Co-ordinator of Computational and in silico Toxicology Speciality Section)
  • Susy Brescia (Co-ordinator of Risk Assessment Speciality Section)
  • Natalie Burden (Co-ordinator of Ecotoxicology Speciality Section)
  • James Coulson (Co-ordinator of Clinical and Human Toxicology Speciality Section and Congress Abstracts Co-Editor)
  • Francisco Inesta-Vaquera (Joint Co-ordinator of Mechanistic and Discovery Toxicology Speciality Section)
  • Miriam Jacobs (Co-ordinator of Regulatory Toxicology Speciality Section)
  • Keith McLuckie (Co-ordinator of Translational Toxicology Speciality Section)
  • Antonio Pena-Fernandez (Congress Abstracts Co-Editor)
  • Carolin Schramm (Joint Co-ordinator of Mechanistic and Discovery Toxicology Speciality Section)
  • Emma Quartermain (NEST: Network for Early Stage Toxicologists)

Co-opted members

  • Kirsti Hornigold (Ambassador Co-ordinator and Co-opt for BTS Communications Sub-Committee)
  • Ovnair Sepai (Representative of Royal Society of Chemistry, RSC)
  • Martin Clift (Representative of UK Animal Alternative Technologies, UKAAT)
  • Marion Macfarlane (Representative of Integrated Toxicology Training Partnership Scheme, ITTP)
  • Catherine Ross (Representative of British Society of Toxicological Pathology, BSTP)
  • Fiona Sewell (Representative of the NC3Rs)
  • Joanne Kilgour (Respresentative of the Association of Inhalation Toxicologists, AIT)