ASCEPT Lecture Award

The BTS has an exchange scheme with the Australian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologist (ASCEPT), which provides an opportunity for a BTS member to attend the ASCEPT Annual Scientific Meeting to deliver the BTS Keynote Presentation, form new collaborations and visit a number of universities and institutions to present additional lecture(s) where appropriate

A successful candidate will be an active contributor to the field of toxicology and/or pharmacology, and be keen to use the opportunity to build contacts and networks to further develop their work

Candidate Attributes

Supports a BTS Member to travel to the ASCEPT Annual Scientific Meeting to deliver the BTS keynote presentation and build collaborations by visiting other institutions


Biennially in even numbered years on a competitive basis

  • Deliver BTS Keynote Lecture at the ASCEPT Meeting
  • Up to £2000 towards travel and expenses in line with BTS Travel Policy
  • Full BTS member for at least 2 years prior to the nomination closure date
  • Nominated and seconded by 2 BTS members
  • Awardee must present the BTS Keynote Presentation at the ASCEPT Annual Scientific Meeting and should aim to deliver additional lectures in host institution(s) during their visit
  • Once awarded, successful applicant cannot apply again for 3 years
  • Open to all members and is independent of age, career stage or place of employment
Application requirements

The nominator should send the following information to the BTS Secretariat:

  • Brief Description (of no more than 1000 words) of the candidate’s achievements
  • Full CV
  • List of peer-reviewed publications or significant pieces of work
  • Nominations for the award can be made by any member of the BTS,
  • Applications should be submitted to the BTS Secretariat in response to a call to the Membership in the spring with a deadline of 31st August.
  • Applications will be reviewed by the Nominations Sub-Committee (NSC), which makes recommendations for ratification by the Executive Committee.
  • The successful awardee will be notified by the President by the end of September preceding the ASCEPT congress (which is generally held in November).
  • Upon return, the awardee will provide a reflective account of experience for the BTS website and/or a review article for submission to the journal Toxicology Research.

Ascept LogoAbout ASCEPT

The Australian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologist (ASCEPT) is the professional and independent Society in Australia and New Zealand with expertise in the use and toxicity of medicines and chemicals. Established in 1966, ASCEPT is affiliated with the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR) and the International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX)

1996    David Ray

1998    Iain Purchase

2000    Kevin Park

2002    Gay Hawksworth

2004    Nick Bateman

2006    Kelly BéruBé

2008    Matthew Wright

2010    Tim Gant

2012    [No award made]

2014    [No award made]

2016    [Rescinded]

2018    John Thompson

2020    [Postponed due to Pandemic]

2021    Amy Chadwick