NC3Rs: Pathways-based approaches across the biosciences

Event Date: April 28th - 28th 2016


The NC3Rs is hosting a one-day workshop in Central London on 28 April 2016. This will bring together multi-disciplinary academic and industry researchers to share their knowledge and experiences in applying pathways-based approaches in practice. Widespread application of such approaches promises to improve safety assessment processes and reduce reliance on animal models.

The workshop will be attended by expert scientists from academia, government and regulatory agencies and the chemicals, consumer products, and pharmaceutical industries.

The key objectives of the workshop are to:

  • keep the UK science base abreast of developments in the field of pathways-based approaches, including adverse outcome pathways (AOPs);
  • expand the multidisciplinary community needed to accelerate the development and application of pathways-based approaches;
  • encourage transition towards application of the knowledge within established AOPs in product development and/or regulatory safety assessment.


The workshop will be chaired by Professor Ian Kimber OBE, Professor of Toxicology at the University of Manchester and will cover:

  1. Case studies: practical applications of pathways-based approaches;
  2. AOPs: perspectives for future development and application;
  3. Next steps to enable wider application of pathways-based approaches; and
  4. An interactive expert panel debate entitled ‘The big conundrum – what constitutes validation?’.

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Dr Elisabet Berggren, European Commission Joint Research Centre, Italy
  • Prof Alan Boobis OBE, Imperial College London, UK
  • Dr Kevin Crofton, EPA, USA
  • Dr Sylvia Escher, Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine, Germany
  • Dr John Paul Gosling, University of Leeds, UK
  • Dr Hennicke Kamp, BASF, Germany
  • Dr Dries Knappen, Universiteit Antwerpen, Netherlands
  • Dr Magdalini Sachana, OECD, France
  • Dr James Sidaway, Phenotox, UK
  • Dr Chantal Smulders, Shell, Netherlands
  • Dr Carl Westmoreland, Unilever, UK
  • Dr Colin Wilde, AvantiCell, UK
  • Dr Marjolein Wildwater, Universiteit Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Dr James Wheeler, Dow AgroSciences, UK
  • Dr Maurice Whelan, European Commission Joint Research Centre, Italy

Attendance is free, but registration is essential. The closing date for registration is 14 April 2016.

The deadline for submission of poster abstracts is 1 April 2016.